Tags

, , , ,


 

While He was still speaking, someone came from the ruler of the synagogue’s house saying to him, “Your daughter is dead. Do not trouble the Teacher.”

Have you ever had the annoying experience of waiting on the Lord in your time of desperation and need, only to find that someone who called on Him after you gets their blessing first? Oh, I have gone through that more times that I’d like to count. And since this is a devotional, and I’ve got to be honest about it (help me Lord!) I can’t say that my reaction toward the blessed person was too pretty. Well, I think at least it was pretty to their face—I hope!

In scripture, we read of a synagogue ruler who came to the Lord because his daughter was dying (it don’t get no more desperate than that!) and he asked Jesus to come and lay hands on his daughter. As Jesus made His way to see about the little girl, here comes this other woman who had an issue of blood, touching His clothes and BAM! She was healed!

The scripture then goes to tell us that Jesus didn’t just keep going, but he stopped and talked to the woman. Can you just imagine the look on the synagogue ruler’s face as Jesus was chit chatting? “Uh, hello? That emergency that I mentioned…”

And as if that wasn’t enough to frustrate the man, the bible says that while Jesus was yet still in conversation with the woman, someone came and told the ruler that his daughter had died.

I was just looking under my bible for the verse that said the man ran home to try to give the girl CPR because that’s exactly what I would’ve done! Seeing as how Jesus didn’t seem to care, I would’ve tried to take matters into my own hands.

But Jesus turned to the man and told him, “Do not be afraid, only believe and she will be made well.” And she was!

Jesus sometimes tends to rescue us only after the situation seems hopeless. He didn’t rescue the woman with the issue of blood until she spent all that she had, and He didn’t rescue the little girl until she was dead!

We have to know that no matter what we’re going through and no matter how close to that midnight hour we seem to creep to before the Lord makes His way to us that He has not forgotten about us. Other people are getting blessed all around us and we’re tempted to believe that He has forgotten us. But keep your peace when it looks desperate or even hopeless because He may not come when we want Him but He’s ALWAYS on time!
Food for thought: Am I trusting God or am I still leaning on my own understanding?
Scripture Reference: Luke 8:40-56

