Have you noticed all of the so called reality shows that they’ve come out with in the last few years where the premise is some famous person living in a house with 25 women (or men) with the intent on picking once of them to spend their life with? There was one really popular one that came out a couple of years ago called The Flava of Love starring Flava Flav.

Okay, so I spent my adolescent years in the eighties and I think that I speak for all of my eighties peers when I say eeeww! I can remember when Public Enemy first came out with their original brand of political Hip-Hop. While Chuck D was saying something to make everyone think, Flava Flav was in the background acting like a monkey and, to tell you the truth, sounding like one too!

So to watch the television and see twenty-five beautiful (yes I said beautiful!) women fighting over this man??? I’ve got to assume that we are truly living in the last days!

One night as I was up late on the computer editing my book with the television on. I was half watching, half ignoring Celebrity Fit Club. I didn’t bother to turn off the television when The Flava of Love came on. Okay, I’ll admit it; I couldn’t turn it off. It was like watching a disaster happen. You know you need to turn your head because it may make your stomach turn but you just can’t. You can’t not look at it! It was the most ridiculous thing I’d ever watched in my life and yet it was mildly addictive.

So after I watched the show (and got off my knees from repenting) I began to think about those young ladies on the show and what must be on their minds to degrade themselves to fight over this man on national television!

I’m not an idiot nor am I naïve! I’m positive that none of these women are actually attracted to anything about Flava Flav except for the fact that he can win them fifteen minutes of fame and hopefully even more. But is it really worth getting on television and cat fighting with a bunch of women and seeing who can show more boobs and booty in order to win this dude’s affection.

And since I’m being honest, I’ll admit that I’ve watched other shows like this since then. (Pray for me!) And they’re all the same! The women are fighting and sabotaging each other for the ultimate prize. And the producers are trying to lead people to believe that this guy and these girls are really looking for true love.

Okay, so I’m coming to my point now! What is the Flava of Love? What does love really taste like? Can you really find love in that kind of setting? I’m not just talking about on the television in a house with 24 other women. I mean, can you really find true love by looking at someone for what they can do for you? Is that the real Flava of love? And if so, once you’ve gotten what you want from them, what happens to the love? Does it then become unnecessary?

What drives us to use people for what we can get from them and then discard them when we’re done? When it’s done to us, are we as understanding as we hope that they would be when they’re the recipient? Is there even a love that exists for us that wants nothing in return? The bible gives us a definition for what love is. It says, Love is patient, Love is kind, Love does not envy, Love does not boast; Love does not behave itself unseemly, Love seeks not her own; is not easily provoked; thinks no evil; rejoices not in iniquity, but rejoices in the truth. Love bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, and endures all things. Love never fails! (1 Corinthians 13:4-8)

Well that’s a mouthful! Now that’s the Flavor of Love! It’s not what you can do for me, but it’s what I can do for you! By this time you may be asking, who in the world actually loves like that? And my answer would be, nobody in this world loves like that. Only God in heaven can love like that. Let me show you something! God is patient, God is kind, God does not envy, God does not boast; God does not behave Himself unseemly, God seeks not His own; God is not easily provoked; thinks no evil; rejoices not in iniquity, but rejoices in the truth. God bears all things, God believes all things, God hopes all things, God endures all things. God never fails!

All this and He wants nothing from you—except for your life! Don’t suck your teeth now saying, I knew there was a catch! If someone’s willing to love you like that, and all they want is control of your life so that they can make sure that you get every good thing coming to you, who is really getting the short end of that stick??? Most of us, if we’re honest, have given up much more for a lot less!

 

