Tags

, , ,


But one thing is needful; and Mary hath chosen that good part which shall not be taken away from her. (Luke 10:42)

 

Have you ever wondered what it would be like to be Mary? Ever wonder what it would be like to be so free that you don’t let anything stop you from worshiping God at His feet? Most of us, myself included, might say, well if I didn’t have a job, perhaps I could have the luxury to be like Mary. Or if I didn’t have kids tugging at my leg all day, I’d be in His Word more often. Or if my husband would stop getting on my nerves, maybe could I concentrate long enough to get into His presence.

Distractions are all around us whatever our life set up is. The good news is distractions do not have to keep us from the feet of Jesus. We can have responsibility and sometimes chaos all around us but we must remember that we have to choose “that good part” because the truth is we can’t do anything to control the demands in our lives anyway.

I have found myself so distracted lately that I can barely see straight. One day as I swept the floor in my house and I sang in my spirit that I like to call, whoa is me, God showed me an open vision. He showed me myself in the middle of a war. As long as I was standing with my face to the sky, I was fine as the war was going on around me. But suddenly, I allowed myself to be distracted by something and I turned my face away from the sky. As soon as that happened, I was hit, and I turned my face in the direction of the one that I thought hit me. When I raised myself to fight, an avalanche of hits came at me from everywhere until I was overwhelmed and therefore overtaken. God spoke to me and said, “You do not have to fight in this war. You just have to stand! Stand and see the salvation of the Lord!”

The evil one sends us distractions because he knows that if he can just get our focus away from God that we will attempt to fight in a battle that we were never meant to fight in. Understand distractions come for one reason only and that is to take our focus off of Jesus. He is Jehovah Nissi, the Lord our banner. This means that He is our focal point and He is our hope. If we take our eyes off our hope we are hopeless!

The battle that we must fight is in our minds. We fight the battle in our minds by renewing our minds with the Word so that we can tell our foolish selves, “Don’t you dare move from your position! God is fighting this battle for me! I only need to stand still and see my Hope!”

If this is your battle, take authority over your thoughts and your anxiety and your fears. The devil will mess all around you but greater is He that is in you than he that is in the world. The victory is already yours!
Food for thought: Do I know that I had the victory before the battle even started?

 

Scripture references: Luke 10:42 Exodus 17:15

 

 

 

