One thing that I have desired of the Lord, that will I seek: That I may dwell in the house of the Lord To behold the beauty of the Lord And to inquire in His temple (Psalm 27:4)

 

Funny thing happened the morning that I wrote this devotional… I was praying my normal, usual (and for this particular morning) boring prayer. I don’t know but for some reason, it felt very routine. However, I knew that I needed this prayer so I continued. As I thanked God for all of the things that He had done and I thought about how much more needed to be done in me, I started expressing to the Lord how much I needed Him. It was at that moment that God arrested my heart and said so clearly it was almost audible, Yes, you need Me, but do you really want me?

The sound of it nearly broke my heart into little pieces. I’d never really thought about it that way. Do I want God? I always assumed that I did. I mean, I’ve been saved for 11 years and have no intention on letting go. If I didn’t want Him, wouldn’t I have backslid by now?

However, I quickly realized what God meant and how different want is from need. I need God because I realize that He is great and awesome and powerful and in this world, I dare not leave my house without knowing that He is with me. I need Him because He is a protector and a healer and a provider. But to want God means to desire to be near Him, even when there is nothing at stake.

I need Him for what He can do and that’s good but God wants me to want Him for Who He is.

It was a challenging question to put it mildly and I pondered it heavily. I thought about David. David, being a king was afforded with all of the power, influence and of course money that he could possibly want or need. However, when it was time for David to pay for his sin with Bathsheba, the only thing he could think to hold on to was the Holy Spirit of God that lived inside of him.

I thought about Moses who when God told him that He was sending him and the Hebrews into the promised land with everything that they would need but that His presence would not go with them, Moses said, No deal! If you don’t go, I don’t want to go…

I thought about it in simpler terms…If your man were with you simply because he needed you and not because he wanted you, I don’t care how handsome he is, that would get old really quick. Everyone wants to be wanted and desired; God included!

If you find yourself feeling like this today; maybe you know you need Him and you also want Him but you really don’t feel the excitement of desire for Him, then to you I say get yourself in His Word today. Read His Word and get to know Him because to know Him is to desire Him! It doesn’t just work for some people but it is for ALL flesh!  It will never disappoint and getting to know Him will surely exceed any expectations you will ever have.
Food for thought: Do I realize that I am not needed by God but that I am wanted?


Scripture Reference: Psalm 27:4; Exodus 33; Psalm 51

 

 

