Tags

, , , , ,


They do not fear bad news; they confidently trust the Lord to care for them.

                                                                                        (Psalm 112:7)

 

Don’t you just wish that the above verse meant that we don’t have to fear bad news because we’re not going to get bad news? Oh, how I wish that were the translation! However what this verse is saying is that we shall have no fear of bad news because our God is greater than our bad news and if He’s on the inside, we can overcome it.

When I was preparing to write this devotional, I looked up phobias and my mind was blown by the amount of phobias that there are out there! Just to name a few:

  • Aeroacrophobia- Fear of open high places.
  • Bibliophobia- Fear of books
  • Carnophobia- Fear of meat
  • Ergophobia- Fear of work
  • Bogyphobia- Fear of bogeys or the bogeyman

I don’t know about you, but when I began to read about all of the phobias [I won’t lie] I related to some, but many were just plain ridiculous! But one thing that we know about fear is that they’re driving. What I mean is, fear will cause you to move in a different direction in order to avoid a thing. If you’re afraid of heights, you’ll avoid them. If you’re afraid of bugs, you’ll avoid them. But what if you’re afraid of God; do you avoid Him too???

The fear of the Lord is not the kind of fear that you would have for a spider or a pit-bull. The fear of the Lord is a reverent fear. In other words it is an understanding that He is supreme so I need to be on His side or I’ll be in some trouble!

I have struggled with fear all of my life. I am no stranger to fears. As a matter of fact, the things that I’m most afraid of are the things that the devil loves to dangle in my face causing me to run for cover every time.

Do you know something? I am tired of running! I am tired of having the same reaction to my fears that I’ve always had because the enemy of my soul feeds off of those reactions and continues to keep coming back again and again with the same things because they’re working!

If you’re like me, and you struggle with fear, it’s time to look that devil in the eye and let him know that you are not falling for it anymore. It doesn’t matter if you’re afraid when you say it. Say it afraid and watch the Lord give you the strength to mean that thing! And when you mean that thing, He’s going to step in and prove you right!

If you want to learn the fear of the Lord, learn Him, for He is good! There’s a verse in Psalm 34:19 that starts out annoying but ends in victory. Many are the afflictions of the righteous, but the Lord delivers him out of them ALL!!!

This verse tells me that, yes, we will have to face much bad news but we do not have to fear because God is going to deliver us from all of it! I know, what you’re thinking. Wouldn’t it be easier if we could just skip the bad news and get right to the deliverance? But how will we know that we are overcomers if we’ve never overcome anything?
Food for thought: Fear God, fear nothing else. Don’t fear God, fear everything else!


Scripture references: Psalm 34:19, Psalm 112:7

