Tags

, , , ,


He has sent Me to heal the brokenhearted, (Luke 4:18)

Have you been hurt or crushed by life? Have ever had your heart set on something only to have it snatched away from you? Do you know what it’s like to be brokenhearted? I do and I’m sure that you do too. It’s a feeling like no other. It’s a feeling of utter helplessness. There’s no pill for it; there’s no operation for it; it’s just there!

My tried cure has always been to just live harder but that doesn’t work because that lingering sense of doom is still with me everywhere I go. My other solution has been to build up walls as security so that nobody can get in and hurt me again. The walls are successful in keeping people from getting too close but they also end up imprisoning me! But I can’t take down my walls because what if I’m hurt again?

God has come to heal our broken hearts. He knows that it’s difficult to live in this world. He knows that it’s scary for us and He understands our pain. He wants to heal us. Having a sick heart is just another way to bind us and distract us from what we were truly called to do. Your God does not want your heart to be sick. He wants you to be well. He came as a healer for you. There’s nothing that has happened to you and me that God cannot heal.

Jesus said that He was sent to heal the brokenhearted. In other words, that was His purpose and therefore His focus. He came to heal you. Does that sink into your heart and give it some hope? Maybe like I have, you’re thinking, ‘But you have no idea what I’ve been through! I don’t know that this will ever stop hurting.’

Trust and know that if He came for that purpose as He said, then He’s already got a plan to heal you. He’s just waiting on you to put your heart in His hands and let Him do it. God is not a man that He should lie. If He said that He would do it, then all that’s left for you to do is to trust and believe Him.

Food for Thought: Do I trust God as the keeper of my heart?

Scripture References: Luke 4:18; Numbers 23:19

 

