Tags

, , , , ,


If I’ve heard it once, I’ve heard it a thousand times! You look just like your mother! Oh my goodness, you sound like your mother! You even talk like her! You act just like your mother! You are your mother’s child!

Don’t get me wrong now! My mother is beautiful inside and out! In fact, when people accuse me of being like my mother in any way, I realize that it’s intended to be a compliment. Well, except maybe, when my sister says it…

I get sick and tired of hearing how much like my mother I am because I hear it so often! People will actually stop me in the street and say, “You must be Rose’s daughter!” I want to flip back, “Well, that’s what I’m told.” But I don’t. I just smile sweetly and take it for the compliment that it’s meant to be—through clenched teeth of course.

What if someone came up to you out of the dead blue and said, “You must be a child of God!” or “You sound just like God.” or “Oh my word! You bear a striking resemblance to God. Are you His child?” Unlikely you think? Well think again.

As children of God, we will stand out to the world as such when we are walking in our fruit. What are fruit you ask? The plain definition of fruit in this case would be the result or the benefit of having the Spirit living inside of you. I use a capital S in Spirit because I am referring to the Spirit of God.

The moment that we accept Jesus as Lord and Savior in our lives, His Holy Spirit enters in and brings everything of God with Him. That includes His ways. Having His Spirit in you means that love, joy, peace, kindness, patience, goodness and faithfulness all set up shop in your temple. You may be thinking, I have that some of that some of the time but not most of the time.

There are days when I can walk in love like no other. I mean, I’m kind, patient, merciful, faithful and all of that. But soon, my husband and children come home and it’s back to the drawing board for me!

What’s the difference between two people, who are born again, but one is nasty and the other is sweet as honey; one is faithful and the other can’t commit to anything; one is judgmental and the other is merciful? The difference is that one walks in their fruit and the other doesn’t.

As born-again’s we have two natures. We have our old nature which is the nature of our great, great, great, great-grandparents, good ol’ Adam and Eve. And then we have our new nature, which is the nature of God that enters when we accept Jesus Christ as Savior. We can still choose, (which many of us do) to walk in our old nature or we can walk in our new nature.

Most of us find it easier to walk in our old nature because, one, it’s what comes naturally to us and two, it makes more sense to us in our own mind set. It’s easy to conclude that if they hit me, I should hit them back. It’s easy to conclude that when there’s chaos around me that I should be afraid and react.

But walking in the fruit of the Spirit is not natural at all because it’s Super Natural—because God is Super Natural! Our flesh will always want to react in a way that feels good to it; I don’t care how saved you think you are! We must deliberately and purposely walk in the Spirit.

In the world that we live in today, where hearts are growing colder and colder and it is drilled in our heads to look out for number one, it is not an easy thing to walk in the Spirit, but it is certainly possible as well as necessary.

The Word of God tells us that our flesh (our old nature) is constantly at war with our spirit (our new nature). It will always be a struggle (for some more than others) to walk in love and kindness while we’re here on this earth because as human beings, it does not come naturally for us. That is why we must get into the Word of God so that we can be transformed by the renewing of our minds (Romans 12:2).

What in the world is going to distinguish us as children of God out there if we look nothing like Him? How can we stand out to the world if we blend in with everyone else? We’re not trying to stand out just for bragging rights. We’re to stand out so that the world will be compelled to look to the Savior when they see how well it works for us. Isn’t that what we’re here for?

People are suffering; people are dying needlessly. There is a living Savior Who is willing to bear the burden for them but they need to be pointed in His direction.

