Tags

, , ,


Have you ever wondered to yourself when your insecurities started? I know that I have on numerous occasions. All I know is that for as long as I can remember, I have been uncomfortable in my own skin. I was never enough of whatever it might be. I wasn’t smart enough; not talented enough; not pretty enough; for a long time, not shapely enough; and then more recently not thin enough… There was always something with me!

One day a very good friend of mine told me that she was about to post some pictures of us from back in junior high on a popular social network. I begged her not to explaining to her that I hate to see pictures of myself in any form (to this day, I’m still very camera shy). She responded to me with a very profound question. She said, “Who told you that you don’t look good in pictures?” I have not been able to get her question out of my head since she asked it. Who told you that you don’t look good in pictures has been ringing in my brain for months!

Recently, my eight year old daughter came home upset and crying because a couple of thirteen year old girls told her that her beloved jump rope that her father made for her was “ghetto”! I had never seen my daughter come so unglued over something that someone (besides her brother) said to her. She was crushed!

She threw the jump rope in her toy box and refused to play with it again. God immediately spoke to my heart saying that this was the start of insecurity for her. As you can imagine, this disturbed me and although my first thought was to go outside and rip the arms of those teenagers off at the neck and then beat them with it, there was a bigger picture here.. .I tried talking to my daughter telling her that she can’t let other people’s opinions of her drive her but she was hearing none of it. Why should she? Her mother hadn’t even learned to hear it yet!

There are a lot of voices out there screaming at us women today; the voices of the media, acquaintances, even friends and family, communicating to us that we or something that we cherish doesn’t measure up or isn’t good enough. We can’t avoid hearing them but we can avoid agreeing with them.

We have got to learn to speak up to these voices and let them know, “You can have your opinion of me and my stuff but you don’t get to have my security along with it. My security is mine to keep!” And although it might sting, it doesn’t have to devastate. You can walk away with your head held high knowing that you are accepted by the Beloved just as you are and He will never reject you.

 

Our Challenge: It is time to combat the voices with the Word of God!

 

