Tags

, , , , , ,


Why do your feet look like that?” “Dag! What size shoe do you wear?” “I sure hope that my child doesn’t grow up to have feet like yours!” These are only a few of the comments that I’ve heard about my feet over the years. For the most part I’ve been able to laugh them off. You see I pride myself on being able to successfully laugh and even assist in making jokes about myself.

I come from a huge family of jokesters and pranksters. You don’t grow up in a household with five brothers without your fair share of lumps. In my family, immediate and extended, if you don’t know how to take an emotional gut-punch then you just might not survive. But although I’ve successfully taken these good-natured punches through the years, at the end of the day, I still take off my socks for no one!

We live in a critical society. Particularly in America, if you don’t look a particular cookie cutter way, you are said to be flawed and what’s more, you are quick to believe it. God says that you are fearfully and wonderfully made, but we are more prone to listen to what our society dictates to us rather than listen to a perfect and flawless Creator.

The comments that have been made about my feet most of my life have shaped the way that I view myself. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve asked God, Why in the world did you make me this way? But as Romans 9:20 says, who am I, the created, to ask the creator why He made me this way?

It has been said that flowers personify beauty. Did you know that there are more then 270,000 types of flowers? Can you imagine a rose telling a lily that it wasn’t beautiful because it didn’t have a long woody stem? It sounds ridiculous, doesn’t it? Although some may prefer the rose to the lily, they are both equally beautiful created by a God that is too creative to make everything exactly the same. And so it is with us. You were made the way that you were made for a reason. Since when does different mean flawed?

We can no longer let the opinions of others dictate what we believe about ourselves. It is time to search the Word of God and learn and accept what He says about you because His is the only opinion that matters anyway!  Do you wanna know what He had to say about my feet? He said, How beautiful are the feet of the messengers who bring good news! (Romans 10:15 NLT) Hey, you might just catch me in sandals this summer…

 

 

