Tags

, , , ,


The earth was formless and empty, and darkness covered the face of the deep. (Gen. 1:2 NLT)

 

In the beginning, the earth in which we now live was in a chaotic state. There was no order to it. The bible says that it was empty. I can’t help but wonder if it was empty because at the time, there was no purpose for it. However, once God established purpose for the earth, order was necessary.

Have you ever felt like your life is chaotic? Does it seem that everything that you want to do is out of your reach because the resources are just not there? I’ve felt that way. When God has revealed to me what He wants me to do, there were times that I’d dismissed it because I can’t wrap my mind around how I would manage it. Can you imagine if God had said, “Let there be light.” And the light had said, “I don’t know how I’m supposed to get light from darkness…” and because it couldn’t wrap its “brain” around what God said to do, darkness remained.

I realize just exactly how ridiculous that sounds and perhaps it’s a really poor analogy but go with me for a moment… If the waters and the land and the light had the sense to obey God’s Word immediately, what’s wrong with us? Sometimes I think that the worst thing that I was given was a brain to think for myself!

I believe that I have said this before but it is worth repeating. When God created us, He created us on purpose. Not only did He create us on purpose but also He prepared everything that we would ever need to live on this earth. Therefore, if He is calling you to do something, do it! It may look chaotic and void but you will not have to struggle and strain to get what you need. It will be by the Word of God that the darkness will become light; that the emptiness will be made full; that the chaotic will fall into order.

 

Food for thought: God is mighty enough to bring order into my chaotic life.

