You say, “I am allowed to do anything” – but not everything is good for you. And even though “I am allowed to do anything,” I must not become a slave to anything. (1 Corinthians 6:12 NLT)

Never has a verse hit me dead in the chest as the above verse has. I have been struggling for years with a secret addiction. For a long time it was a secret even to myself. I had an addiction that many would call minor. Many might even argue that it is not an addiction but I know the hold that it had on me. It was literally affecting every area in my life. And even when I realized that I was dealing with an addiction, I felt powerless to let it go.

The thing about addiction is that it is arrogant. Yes, I realize that I used a word that is usually used to describe a person but anyone who has ever struggled with an addiction knows that it takes on it’s own persona and that persona is arrogant.

Arrogant: having or revealing an exaggerated sense of one’s own importance or abilities.

Anything in your life that exalts itself above the Most High is arrogant sin.

Addiction says, “I am going to make you feel so good!” “Nothing in your life is better than me!” “Without me, you are nothing!”

The truth is addiction is a liar. It is not the best thing in your life; you are who God made you to be despite what addiction says and even if it makes you feel good, it’s only temporary!

With all of that being understood, I still couldn’t help but hold on to my addiction as if it were my life source! But beloved, God is your one and only life source. He is the best thing in your life. There is nothing in your life better than Him. And forget about Him just making you feel good; He IS Good!

Therefore whom the Son has set free is free indeed! (John 8:36) The question is not, ‘Has Christ set you free?’ Because He has absolutely set you free! The question is ‘Are you walking in the Freedom that Christ has laid down his life to give to you?’

Because while Christ was laying down His very life to make you free, the devil had plans to bind you, and you’d better believe that he is working feverishly day and night to carry out those plans.

The devil knows that you’re free but his plan is to deceive you into thinking that you are not free; that you will never be free; that freedom is just not available for you.

So there we lay, bound and chained to the lie that the devil has fed to us. We become weak because we have traded in the life of Christ for death through addiction.

Perhaps this is not you. Perhaps I am speaking only for myself. Perhaps I am the only one who struggles with addiction. But if you can relate to this message and if you have struggled with addiction, let it go today and accept the freedom that was purchased for you on the cross. God is waiting with open arms to heal you. Let Him do it!

