Tags

,


I will praise thee; for I am fearfully and wonderfully made: marvelous are thy works; and that my soul knoweth right well. (Psalm 139:14 KJV)

Image 

I’ve made it no secret that I’ve wrestled with insecurity for most of my life. I received Christ 13 years ago and I wish that I could say my insecurities ended there but they did not! I know that this is going to sound weird but in some ways I felt that insecurity was okay in the eyes of God. A part of me felt like my insecurities were rooted in humility. However, that could not be further from the truth. Insecurity is not rooted in humility but it is rooted in unbelief!

Arguably, there is nothing that makes the evil one happier than when we are insecure. Causing us to feel insignificant and unsure gives him just the power that he needs to rule us. He can’t do anything with a vessel that is completely conformed to the Word of God!

The word insecure is broken up into two words: in + secure. The prefix in means not and the word secure means not subject to threat; certain to remain or continue safe and unharmed. As women of God, we understand that God is our security or our safe place. To say that we are insecure is to say that our God is not safe.

 I don’t care what you have; or don’t have. I don’t care what you look like; or don’t look like. I don’t care what you know; or don’t know. Know this: Your God is safe! There is none safer. And if you are His, you have no reason to be insecure!

King David said, “I am fearfully and wonderfully made”. The word fearfully in this verse is the same Hebrew root word used in the phrase the fear of the Lord. This word fear has to do with reverence and awe. In other words, who you truly are or who God made you to be inspires reverence and awe! Of course the devil hates you! You were made in the very image and likeness of God for goodness sakes! Every time the enemy looks at you he sees in you the One Who created him; hence the One Who has the power to destroy him! 

Sisters, I may just be talking to myself and God only knows that I need it, but we have got to get over this contentment in our insecurity. Some of us have nursed insecurity for so long that we wouldn’t even recognize our own selves free. But it is not your Father’s will that you continue in unbelief. Believe that you are who He says you are because He is Who He says He is!

Food for thought: I am made in the image of the Almighty and Powerful God! 

