And when he putteth forth his own sheep, he goeth before them, and the sheep follow him: for they know his voice. And a stranger will they not follow, but flee from him: for they know not the voice of strangers. (John 10:4,5 KJV)

I cannot count the number of times that a fellow sister or brother in Christ has asked me, “What does God’s voice sound like when He’s talking to you?” or “How do I know that I’m hearing God’s voice?”
This is absolutely normal for a new convert but for those of us who have been living this thing for some years, not knowing the voice of your Father should not be! For a Christian to say that they don’t know the voice of God, it means one thing and one thing only; you have not spent any time in His presence, reading His Word.
There are people in my life that can call me on the phone and without even looking at the caller id, I’ll know who it is as soon as I hear their voice. Why; because I have spent time talking with them therefore I’ve come to a place where I know their voice. If someone else gets on the phone claiming to be them, immediately a red flag will go off and I’ll question whether they are who they say they are. There are people that I know so well that if someone comes to me with false information about them, I can confidently dismiss it knowing that this is not something that they would do.
Many times the voice of the adversary will try to mimic the voice of God and instruct you to do something contrary to God’s Word. If we have spent time with God, in His Word, the voice of the enemy will sound flawed. If the message or instructions does not line up with the Word of God, then it is NOT God. God will never speak contrary to His Word. But how will you know that it doesn’t line up with His Word if you don’t read His Word?!
In the time that we live in, when so many false doctrines and false prophets have gone out causing many to fall by the ways side due to lack of knowledge, it will never be a waste of your time to read God’s Word. If you think that the enemy is not after you, you would be wrong! The enemy is after you! He wants your soul destroyed! Arm yourself in these evil times and get to know your Father’s voice!

Food for thought: To know your Father is to love your Father!

