For the Word of God is quick and powerful and sharper than any two edged sword, piercing even to the dividing asunder of soul and spirit, and of the joints and marrow, and is a discerner of the thoughts and intents of the heart, (Hebrews 4:12 KJV)

What does it mean when someone tells you that the Word of God is Alive? For many years I really didn’t understand it. I just thought that it was something that deep people say. But then I realized that man did not say it first. That statement comes from the Word of God. When it says that The Word is quick, that word quick in the Greek means, ALIVE! So if this statement comes from the Word of God, that means it’s true! When I realized that it was actually true, my next question was, what does it mean?
Well think about it in the natural. When I was pregnant with my children, they were alive and living inside of me. Immediately after I conceived, my body began to feel different. I was sick from things that never made me sick before. I couldn’t do many of the things that I used to do because I could harm the baby inside of me. I’d feel him moving around inside of me. He made me crave or desire things that I did not normally like.
Now hold onto that and go with me to another place. Imagine that you move into a home. When I moved into my first apartment, the first thing that I did before I put my stuff away was clean. I scrubbed the cabinets, floors the bathroom. I made sure that it was clean before I began putting my stuff down and around. I took out everything in the place that I did not like. I took out everything that was not like me. I threw it in the garbage.
The landlord, the owner of the house told me that there were items that were left from the other tenant that I was welcome to keep. But if it wasn’t like me, I wasn’t keeping it and into the garbage it went.
Now just picture having a Holy and Sovereign God taking up residency in your body. He gets in there and he starts moving stuff around in the places that he wants it. He starts removing the things that are no good. In the beginning this is uncomfortable. Sometimes it’s even painful but He knows what He’s doing. We begin to war with Him because it doesn’t feel good and it doesn’t feel familiar.
If you’ve ever rented a place, you know that many times there are restrictions on what you can do with the place. You can’t paint certain colors or sometimes you can’t paint at all. You can’t move, remodel or get rid of certain things. The reason for this is because your stay is only temporary. What the landlord is saying is that you may not be here forever and the next tenant may not like the changes.
Did you notice that the word “lord” is in landlord? Because he is “lord” over that land. Just as we were lord over our land, before we received Christ. But Christ isn’t trying to rent from you. He wants to own your land; your place, your temple. In fact, He does own your land, your place your temple. The Word of God says that you were bought with a price. God wants to paint; He wants to knock down some walls He wants to totally renovate your temple.
If someone purchases a house and begins to do some renovations in the place, can the former owner come back to the home and complain about the renovations and demand that the new owner put things back the way that they were? Not if they don’t want to be arrested! They have no rights to the place anymore.
There’s a show on TLC called “Moving Up”. It features families that move out of one house and purchase another from another family. They renovate the entire house to their liking and when they’re all done, the old family gets to come back and critique the place. It always amuses me that the old owners have so much to say about the new owners’ renovations. They can’t understand how they didn’t like things exactly the way that they were left. And to tell you the truth, sometimes the old owners leave a mess and they actually expect the new owners to keep their mess!
The place has been bought with a price. If they didn’t want to sell, they shouldn’t have accepted the money. But they did accept the money, which means that they have to let go. You see, our problem is not allowing Christ to be Savior in our lives. We love it when he saves us. But the struggle comes when He expects to be LORD and that comes with having rule over what He has purchased with His blood!
We must change. We must follow the directions from God and allow Him to renovate our temple because we’re either going to sell out completely to God or not sell at all!

Food for thought: I was bought with a price; I am no longer my own.

