“Can a mother forget the baby at her breast and have no compassion on the child she has borne? Though she may forget, I will not forget you! See, I have engraved you on the palms of my hands; your walls are ever before me. (Isaiah 49:15-16 NIV)

There is a secular song that currently plays in heavy rotation on the radio called True Love. I normally do not listen to secular music but I took special notice of this particular song because the first time I happened to hear it, I laughed out loud causing the people that I work with to stare at me like I had six heads!
The singer is apparently talking to her man in the song and I kid you not, the first words out of her mouth are, “Sometimes I want to slap you in your whole face!” I took notice of the song from there and proceeded to hear the crooner sing about how much her man irks her nerves and how she would take total pleasure in wringing his neck! Strangely enough, all of these things lead the singer to believe that her relationship “must be true love”! (I really can’t make this stuff up!)
While I’m sure many of us can relate to wanting to slap their man in “his whole face!” it occurred to me that we really do have a distorted image of what true love is. Man’s love cannot be true because at his best, man is simply self-centered; therefore, his love will always be uncertain. How then, can we try to put a label on the love of man that says, “true”?
In scripture we learn that God is love. What’s more, we are told that God is true. Why is it that we constantly associate God’s love with man’s love?
We assume that God did not hear our prayers, or worse yet, He’s ignoring our prayers because they’re just not important enough to Him. We assume that He loves someone else more than us. We assume that we have to go all out to impress Him and get His attention when we’ve had His attention since before we were even created in our mother’s womb! Our God is perfect and our assumptions come not from what we know about God but from what we’ve experienced with man.
God is not a man! His love is not contingent on what we do. He loves us totally and completely. He does not come to judge us but He comes to heal us! He does not bind but He sets free! God’s love is never self-centered or uncertain; you can always count on it! His love is completely pure, completely lasting and completely true!

Food for thought: A healthy understanding of God’s love will inspire worship!

Scripture Ref: Isaiah 49:15-16, 1 John 4:8, John 14:16

